JOINT MEDIA STATEMENT OF THE TENTH INFORMAL ASEAN MINISTERIAL MEETING ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (IAMMST-10)

19 October 2018 | Cebu, Philippines

- 1. The Tenth Informal ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Science and Technology (IAMMST-10) was held on 19 October 2018 in Cebu, Philippines. It was chaired by H.E. Prof. Fortunato T. de la Peňa, Secretary (Minister) of Science and Technology of the Republic of the Philippines.
- 2. The Ministers congratulated the Philippines for the successful hosting of various events in conjunction with the IAMMST-10, which include:
 - i. the ASEAN Ethics Meeting;
 - ii. the ASEAN Technology Transfer Forum;
 - iii. the ASEAN Workshop on Intellectual Property;
 - iv. the ASEAN Workshop on Start-up Innovation;
 - v. the ASEAN Young Leaders Forum 2018;
 - vi. the 53rd Meeting of ASEAN Sub-Committee on S&T Infrastructure and Resource Development (SCIRD-53);
 - vii. the 6th Meeting of Board of Advisors to ASEAN Committee on Science and Technology (BAC-6);
 - viii.the 75th Meeting of ASEAN Committee on Science and Technology (COST-75);
 - ix. the 9th Meeting of the ASEAN-Japan Cooperation Committee on Science and Technology (AJCCST-9);
 - x. the 8th ASEAN-EU Dialogue on Science and Technology (AEUDST-8); and
 - xi. the 8th ASEAN-US Consultation on Science and Technology (AUSCST-8).
- 3. The Ministers exchanged views on the developments on the ASEAN Declaration of Innovation adopted at the 31st ASEAN Summit in November 2017, the implementation of ASEAN Plan of Action on Science, Technology and Innovation (APASTI) 2016-2025, the progress on coordination with Dialogue Partners under the new country coordinatorship mechanism, and on protection and utilisation of Intellectual Property.
- 4. The Ministers agreed to the renaming of the S&T ministerial body and senior official committee to ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Science, Technology and Innovation (AMMSTI) and ASEAN Committee on Science, Technology and Innovation (COSTI) respectively. The Ministers also adopted the Terms of Reference of AMMSTI.
- 5. Underscoring the importance to leverage on the paradigm shifting science and technologies in a sustainable and inclusive manner, the Ministers were pleased to note the establishment of the ASEAN Foresight Alliance, the ASEAN Young Scientists Network, the ASEAN Network on Metallurgy and Metallic Materials, and the ASEAN Network on Sustainable and Environmental Materials, the commencement of the ASEAN High Performance Computing (HPC) Infrastructure initiative and the ASEAN Diagnostics Development (DxD) Initiative, and welcomed the establishment of ASEAN Centre on Microbial Utilisation and the initiative, STI

Framework for Action: Converging towards the Development of an ASEAN Platform on Science, Technology, and Innovation for Disaster and Climate Resilience.

- 6. The Ministers commended on the conduct of the 2nd Call for Proposals for the implementation of actions indicated in the ASEAN Plan of Action on Science, Technology and Innovation (APASTI) 2016-2025, where 15 proposals out of 66 were approved.
- 7. Reaffirming the ASEAN's commitment to the major task of innovation-driven growth with the adoption of the ASEAN Declaration on Innovation by the Leaders of ASEAN in November 2017 in the Philippines, the Ministers endorsed the draft Joint Statement on ASEAN-China Science, Technology and Innovation Cooperation for the issuance by the ASEAN Leaders at the 21st ASEAN-China Summit in Singapore.
- 8. The Ministers welcomed the continued cooperation with Japan through the Japan-ASEAN Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) Platform (JASTIP), the Sakura Science Plan's Exchange Programme for Young ASEAN Officials Working in STI for Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), and the proposed Japan-ASEAN STI for SDGs Bridging Initiative.
- 9. The Ministers were pleased to note the continued cooperation with India through the ASEAN-India Space Cooperation Programme, the ASEAN-India Collaborative R&D Programme (AICRD), and the ASEAN-India Research Training Fellowship (AIRTF) for ASEAN Researchers.
- 10. Encouraging strengthened utilisation of science, technology and innovation (STI) for economic growth, the Ministers appreciated the conduct of the ASEAN-ROK Capacity-building of Biofuel Appropriate Technology Development and Business Model Generation using STI and Knowledge Management project.
- 11. The Ministers welcomed progress in implementing the ASEAN-Russia Plan of Action on Science, Technology and Innovation (ARPASTI) with the commencement of the Study and Development of Recommendations on Industrial Wastewater Treatment Technologies for Industrial Enterprises, and Workshop on Biological (parasitic) Safety of the Environment, Food and Prevention of Parasitic Diseases.
- 12. The Ministers were pleased to note the approval of the STI component under the funding instrument for ASEAN cooperation with EU and US, namely, the Enhanced Regional EU-ASEAN Dialogue Instrument (E-READI), and the ASEAN-USAID Inclusive Growth in ASEAN through Innovation, Trade and E-Commerce (IGNITE) respectively.
- 13. The Ministers congratulated the recipients of the 2018 ASEAN-US Science Prize for Women.
- 14. The Ministers were informed that the 18th ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Science, Technology and Innovation (AMMSTI-18) will be hosted by Singapore in October 2019.

15. The Ministers expressed appreciation to the Government and people of the Republic of the Philippines for the warm hospitality accorded to them and for the excellent arrangement made.

LIST OF ASEAN MINISTERS

The Meeting was attended by:

- i. **H.E. Dato Seri Paduka Matsatejo Sokiaw**, Deputy Minister of Energy, Manpower and Industry, Brunei Darussalam (representing Hon. Dato Seri Setia Dr. Haji Mat Suny Bin Haji Mohd Hussein, Minister of Energy, Manpower and Industry, Brunei Darussalam)
- ii. **H.E. Dr. CHAM Prasidh,** Senior Minister and Minister of Industry and Handicraft, Kingdom of Cambodia
- iii. **H.E. Prof. Dr. Mohamad Nasir,** Minister of Research, Technology, and Higher Education, Indonesia
- iv. **H.E. Mr. Houmphanh INTHARATH,** Vice Minister of Science and Technology, Lao PDR (representing H.E. Prof. Dr. Boviengkham VONGDARA, Minister of Science and Technology, Lao PDR)
- v. **Hon. Madam Isnaraissah Munirah Majilis**, Deputy Minister of Energy, Science, Technology, Environment, and Climate Change (MESTECC), Malaysia (representing Hon. Yeo Bee Yin, Minister of Energy, Science, Technology, Environment, and Climate Change (MESTECC), Malaysia)
- vi. **H.E. Mr. Win Maw Tun,** Deputy Minister of Education, Myanmar (representing H.E. Dr. Myo Thein Gyi, Union Minister of Education, Myanmar)
- vii. **H.E. Prof. Fortunato T. de la Peňa,** Secretary of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), the Republic of the Philippines
- viii. **H.E. Dr. Tan Wu Meng**, Senior Parliamentary Secretary in Ministry of Trade and Industry, Singapore (representing H.E. Chan Chun Sing, Minister for Trade and Industry, the Republic of Singapore)
- ix. H.E. Dr. Suvit Maesincee, Minister of Science and Technology, Thailand
- x. **H.E. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Bui The Duy**, Deputy Minister for Science and Technology, Viet Nam representing H.E. Dr. Chu Ngoc Anh, Minister for Science and Technology, the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam
- xi. **H.E. Dr. Aladdin D. Rillo,** Deputy Secretary-General of ASEAN for ASEAN Economic Community, ASEAN Secretariat (representing H.E. Dato Lim Jock Hoi, Secretary-General of ASEAN)

•••