

The 14th Ministerial Meeting of the ASEAN-MekongBasin Development Cooperation (AMBDC) 29 August 2012, Siem Reap, Cambodia

Joint Media Statement

- 1. The purpose of the ASEAN-Mekong Basin Development Cooperation (AMBDC) is to enhance the economically sound and sustainable development of the Mekong Basin through the establishment of economic partnerships and linkages between the riparian and non-riparian members of the Cooperation. Its members include all ASEAN Member States and the People's Republic of China.
- 2. The 14th Ministerial Meeting on the ASEAN-Mekong Basin Development Cooperation was held in Siem Reap, Cambodia on 29 August 2012, and waschaired by H.E Cham Prasidh, Senior Minister and Minister of Commerce, Kingdom of Cambodia.
- 3. At the Meeting, the Ministers took note of the progress made in the implementation of AMBDC projects. As of August 2012, there are 52 projects. A total of 14 projects still require funding worth US\$ 272.5 million. Recognising that financing of activities remain a priority and challenge for the countries, the Ministers discussed opportunities to further strengthen cooperation among countries and stakeholders to benefit development of the region.
- 4. The Ministers also noted the progress of activities from the various countries on the Singapore-Kunming Rail Link (SKRL) Project and that further developments on the SKRL will be reported at the 14th Meeting of the Special Working Group on the SKRL scheduled in October 2012 in Lao PDR.
- 5. As one of the many key actions under the Master Plan for ASEAN Connectivity, the Ministers noted the strengthening of coordination between the Special Working Group on the SKRL with the ASEAN Connectivity Coordinating Committee (ACCC).
- 6. Apart from infrastructure, the Ministers have placed renewed interest on the other areas of cooperation set in the AMBDC Basic Framework, such as human resource development and capacity building. The Ministers highlighted that providing technical assistance and training for the CLMV countries in establishing and operating their segments of the SKRL must continue and be appraised regularly.
- 7. The Ministers noted the progress at the country initiativesand the importance of sustaining efforts at the national level for the region's benefit. For the remaining years leading up to the creation of an ASEAN Community by 2015, the AMBDC will need to set priorities in identified areas and concerns under the cooperation. The Ministers recognised that the issue of implementation has

become bigger and more complex and will require steps to rationalise and prioritise the agenda of the AMBDC.

- 8. In this regard, the Ministers tasked the Steering Committee to ensure effective implementation of the activities under this cooperation in coordination with the countries, and with the support of the ASEAN Secretariat.
- 9. The Ministers agreed that Brunei Darussalam will chair the AMBDC for the period 2013 and will host the 15thAMBDC Ministerial Meeting.
- 10. In closing, the Ministers expressed sincere thanks and appreciation to the Royal Government of the Kingdom of Cambodia for the excellent arrangements for the meeting and warm hospitality in Siem Reap.



List of Ministers

- 1. H.E. PehinDato Lim Jock Seng, Second Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Brunei Darussalam (represented by H.E. Lim Jock Hoi, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Brunei Darussalam)
- 2. H.E. ChamPrasidh, Senior Minister and Minister, Ministry of Commerce, Cambodia
- 3. H.E. Du Ying, Vice-Chairman, National Development and Reform Commission, the People's Republic of China
- 4. H.E. Gita IrawanWirjawan, Minister, Ministry of Trade, Indonesia (represented by Mr.IwanSuyudhieAmri, Director, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Indonesia)
- 5. H.E. Nam Viyaketh, Minister, Ministry of Industry and Commerce, Lao PDR
- 6. H.E. Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister, Ministry of International Trade and Industry, Malaysia
- 7. H.E. U Tin Naing Thein, Union Minister, Ministry for National Planning and Economic Development, Myanmar
- 8. H.E. Gregory L. Domingo, Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry, the Philippines (represented by Mr. Angelo S.M. Benedictos, Director, Bureau of International Trade Relations, Department of Trade and Industry, the Philippines)
- 9. H.E. Lim Hong Kiang, Minister, Ministry for Trade and Industry, Singapore (represented by Ms.SulaimahMahmood, Director, Ministry for Trade and Industry, Singapore)
- 10. H.E. BoonsongTeriyapirom, Minister, Ministry of Commerce, Thailand
- 11. H.E. Vu Huy Hoang, Minister, Ministry of Industry and Trade, Viet Nam (represented by H.E. Nguyen Cam Tu, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Industry and Trade, Vietnam)
- 12. H.E. SurinPitsuwan, Secretary-General of ASEAN