JOINT MINISTERIAL STATEMENT OF THE 15TH ASEAN SOCIO-CULTURAL COMMUNITY (ASCC) COUNCIL

4 June 2016 Luang Prabang, Lao PDR

- We, the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Council (ASCC) Ministers of Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Viet Nam met on 4 June 2016 in Luang Prabang, for the 15th ASCC Council Meeting, under the chairmanship of Lao PDR.
- 2. We recognize the significance of 2016 as the first year since ASEAN became a Community and the first year for the implementation of the ASEAN Vision 2025 and its Blueprints for the three community pillars. We therefore expressed our full support to the chairmanship of Lao PDR and reaffirmed our commitment to ASCC priorities for 2016 and beyond as inspired by this year's theme of *Turning Vision into Reality for a Dynamic ASEAN Community*.
- 3. Consistent with the ASCC Vision 2025 and in line with priorities for the year, we endorsed important declarations to be adopted by the Leaders during the 28th ASEAN Summit namely the Vientiane Declaration on Transition from Informal Employment to Formal Employment towards Decent Work Promotion in ASEAN; the ASEAN Declaration on One ASEAN One Response: ASEAN Responding to Disasters as One in the Region and Outside the Region; and the ASEAN Declaration on Strengthening Education for Out-of-School Children and Youth.
- 4. We noted the progress of the development of the Vientiane Declaration on Reinforcing Cultural Heritage in ASEAN and the ASEAN Joint Statement on Biodiversity for the 13th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (2016).
- 5. We discussed the progress of implementation and monitoring of the ASCC Blueprint 2025 and noted with satisfaction the development of work plans for 2016-2020 of the ASCC sectoral

Adopted at the 15th ASCC Council Meeting

ministerial bodies. We encouraged all ASCC sectoral ministerial bodies and member states to heighten follow up efforts to implement ASEAN Declarations through national and regional initiatives, ensure effective contribution of relevant sectoral ministerial bodies towards people-to-people connectivity and enhance mechanisms for cross-sectoral coordination, monitoring and evaluation and communication of results.

- 6. We exchanged views on ASCC's support to the work of the ASEAN Member States' Permanent Missions to ASEAN through the secondment of ASCC officers. We welcomed the adoption by the Committee of Permanent Representatives (CPR) of the Terms of Reference for the Secondment and agreed that its implementation will be based on the readiness of each ASEAN Member State.
- 7. We discussed the status of the ASCC Study on the Implications of Timor Leste's Accession to ASEAN and tasked the ASEAN Secretariat to convey the report that was reviewed and noted by Senior Officials Committee for the ASCC (SOCA) to the ASEAN Coordinating Committee Working Group for further action.
- 8. We were pleased to note the follow-up actions taken by the SOCA, sectoral ministerial bodies and the ASEAN Secretariat to address the recommendations of the HLTF on Strengthening the ASEAN Secretariat and Reviewing the ASEAN Organs relevant to ASCC. In line with this, we have adopted the Terms of Reference (TOR) of the ASCC Council and tasked the ASEAN Secretariat to update the CPR accordingly.
- 9. We expressed our gratitude to SOCA, that had its 20th meeting immediately preceding the 15th ASCC Council meeting, for their hard work in ensuring that this 15th ASCC Council meeting will be effective and achieve its objectives.
- 10. We conveyed our deepest appreciation to Lao PDR for the warm hospitality and excellent arrangements as host of the 15th ASCC Council and for its effective leadership during its Chairmanship.

LIST OF MINISTERS/HEADS OF DELEGATION ATTENDING THE 15TH ASCC COUNCIL MEETING 4 June 2016, Luang Prabang, Lao PDR

- 1. H.E. PEHIN DATO HALBI YUSSOF MINISTER OF CULTURE, YOUTH AND SPORTS BRUNEI DARUSSALAM
- 2. H.E. YUOK NGOY SECRETARY OF STATE, MINISTRY OF EDUCATION, YOUTH AND SPORT CAMBODIA
- 3. H.E. I NYOMAN SHUIDA DEPUTY MINISTER OF COMMUNITY, RURAL AND REGIONAL EMPOWERMENT REPUBLIC OF INDONESIA
- 4. H.E. PROF. DR. BOSENGKHAM VONGDARA MINISTER OF INFORMATION, CULTURE AND TOURISM LAO PDR
- 5. **H.E. DATUK MAS ERMIEYATI BINTI HAJI SAMSUDIN** DEPUTY MINISTER OF MINISTRY OF TOURISM AND CULTURE MALAYSIA
- 6. **H.E. THURA AUNG KO** UNION MINISTER, MINISTRY OF RELIGIOUS AFFAIRS AND CULTURE MYANMAR
- 7. H.E. CORAZON JULIANO-SOLIMAN SECRETARY, DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL WELFARE AND DEVELOPMENT PHILIPPINES
- 8. **H.E. TAN CHUAN-JIN** MINISTER OF SOCIAL AND FAMILY DEVELOPMENT SINGAPORE
- 9. H.E. POLICE GENERAL ADUL SANGSINGKEO MINISTER OF SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT AND HUMAN SECURITY THAILAND
- 10. H.E. DOAN MAU DIEP DEPUTY MINISTER OF LABOUR, INVALIDS AND SOCIAL AFFAIRS VIET NAM
- 11. **H.E. LE LUONG MINH** SECRETARY-GENERAL OF ASEAN