THE FIFTEENTH ASEAN AND CHINA TRANSPORT MINISTERS MEETING (15th ATM+CHINA) 17 November 2016, Manila, Philippines

JOINT MINISTERIAL STATEMENT

1. The Fifteenth ASEAN and China Transport Ministers Meeting (15th ATM+China) was held on 17 November 2016 in Manila, Philippines. The Meeting was co-chaired by H.E. Mr. Arthur P. Tugade, Secretary of Department of Transportation of Philippines and H.E. Mr. Dai Dongchang, Vice Minister of Transport of the People's Republic of China. The Meeting was preceded by the Fifteenth ASEAN and China Senior Transport Officials Meeting (15th STOM+China) held on 16 November 2016.

2. The Ministers took note of the outcomes of 19th ASEAN-China Summit held on 7 September 2016 in Vientiane, Lao PDR particularly the Leaders' collective commitment in further strengthening the ASEAN-China Strategic Partnership. On China's initiatives such as the "Belt and Road" and the 2+7 Cooperation Framework for further enhancing ASEAN-China relations, the Ministers noted that the Leaders looked forward to working closely with China to enhance cooperation on the basis of equality, mutual respect, benefit and consensus.

3. The Ministers adopted the revised Strategic Plan for ASEAN-China Transport Cooperation which aligns with ASEAN's goals and actions in the Kuala Lumpur Transport Strategic Plan 2016-2025 and China's vision of "Belt and Road". The strategic plan serves as an important guide for prioritisation, investment programming and funds mobilisation for seven key ASEAN-China transport corridors.

4. The Ministers adopted the Development Strategy for ASEAN-China Transport Scientific and Technological Cooperation which aims to promote transport scientific and technological cooperation and exchanges among ASEAN Member States and China, through research and development, standard and specifications, technological services, exchanges between scientific and technological personnel and setting up a research platform.

5. The Ministers were pleased with the entry into force of the ASEAN-China Maritime Transport Agreement and looked forward to its implementation which would further advance cooperation and facilitation of international maritime passenger and cargo transportation in order to support regional trade.

6. The Ministers commended the progress made in the implementation of the ASEAN-China Air Transport Agreement (ACATA) and its Protocols 1 and 2, and looked forward to the further liberalisation between ASEAN and China in support of the ASEAN-China Free Trade Agreement. The Ministers tasked the senior officials and relevant working groups to look into the possibility of expanding 5th freedom traffic rights between points in ASEAN and China in order to further liberalise the air services regime between ASEAN and China. 7. The Ministers also welcomed the progress made in several projects/activities including facilitating ASEAN-China logistics information cooperation, promoting ASEAN-China cooperation in maritime training and education, and elevating the level of waterborne safety in this region.

8. The Ministers welcomed new initiatives in ASEAN-China transport cooperation including strengthening the coordination of top-level development planning, expanding transport infrastructure network, facilitating sea, land and air transportation, enhancing safety and environmental protection on water, and promoting harmonization of standards in accordance with those of the relevant international organizations where appropriate, and information exchange.

9. The Sixteenth ASEAN and China Transport Ministers Meeting will be held in Singapore in 2017.

LIST OF MINISTERS

- (a) H.E. Dato Seri Setia Haji Mustappa bin Haji Sirat, Minister of Communications of Brunei Darussalam;
- (b) H.E. Mr. Sun Chanthol, Senior Minister and Minister of Public Works and Transport of Cambodia;
- (c) H.E. Mr. Dai Dongchang, Vice Minister of Transport of China;
- (d) Mr. Sugihardjo representing H.E. Mr. Budi Karya Sumadi, Minister for Transportation of Indonesia;
- (e) H.E. Mr. Viengsavath Siphandone, Vice Minister of Public Works and Transport of Lao PDR;
- (f) H.E. Dato' Sri Liow Tiong Lai, Minister of Transport of Malaysia;
- (g) H.E. Mr. Thant Sin Maung, Union Minister of Transport and Communications of Myanmar;
- (h) H.E. Mr. Arthur P. Tugade, Secretary of Transportation of the Philippines;
- (i) H.E. Mr. Khaw Boon Wan, Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure and Minister for Transport of Singapore;
- (j) H.E. Mr. Arkhom Termpittayapaisith, Minister of Transport of Thailand;
- (k) H.E. Mr. Nguyen Hong Truong, Vice Minister of Transport of Viet Nam; and
- (I) H.E. Mr. Lim Hong Hin, Deputy Secretary-General of ASEAN for ASEAN Economic Community.