INSTRUMENT OF EXTENSION OF THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First, the Second and the Third Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987, on 25 July 1998, and on 23 July 2010, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Third Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia and regional organisations whose members are only sovereign States may accede to the Treaty subject to the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely, Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS the Federative Republic of Brazil, in the Declaration on Accession to the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia by the Federative Republic of Brazil signed in Bali, Indonesia, on 16 November 2011, expressed its desire to accede to the Treaty;

NOW, therefore, the Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the

Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, having considered the said Declaration, hereby consent to the accession to the Treaty as amended by the Protocols, by the Government of the Federative Republic of Brazil.

DONE at Phnom Penh, the Kingdom of Cambodia, this Seventeenth of November in the Year Two Thousand and Twelve.

For Brunei Darussalam:

PEHIN DATO LIM JOCK SENG

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade II

For the Kingdom of Cambodia:

HOR NAMHONG

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation For the Republic of Indonesia:

DR. R.M. MARTY M. NATALEGAWA Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic:

DR. THONGLOUN SISOULITH

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

For Malaysia:

DATO' SRI ANIFAH BIN HAJI AMAN Minister of Foreign Affairs For the Republic of the Union of Myanmar:

U WUNNA MAUNG LWIN Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of the Philippines:

ALBERT F. DEL ROSARIO

Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of Singapore:

K SHANMUGAM

Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister for Law

For the Kingdom of Thailand:

SURAPONG TOVICHAKCHAIKUL

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam:

PHAM BINH MINH

Minister for Foreign Affairs