



THE FOURTEENTH AEM-INDIA CONSULTATIONS 11 September 2017, Pasay City, Philippines

JOINT MEDIA STATEMENT

- 1. Economic Ministers from the ten ASEAN Member States and the Minister of Commerce and Industry of the Republic of India ("the Ministers") met on 11 September 2017 in Manila, Philippines, for the Fourteenth AEM-India Consultations. The Consultations were co-chaired by H.E. Ramon M. Lopez, Secretary of Trade and Industry of the Philippines, and H.E. Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu, Minister for Commerce and Industry of India.
- 2. The Minister of India congratulated the ASEAN Ministers on the 50th Anniversary of ASEAN, which marked a historic milestone in ASEAN's regional integration. The Ministers reaffirmed their commitment to strengthen economic cooperation towards shared prosperity and inclusive growth.
- 3. The Ministers noted that total merchandise trade between ASEAN and India amounted to USD 58.4 billion in 2016. Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) flows from India to ASEAN reached USD 1.05 billion in the same year.
- 4. The Ministers noted the status of ratification of the ASEAN-India Trade in Services Agreement and ASEAN-India Investment Agreement, and requested for the full ratification of both Agreements by all Parties. The Ministers underscored that the full implementation of these Agreements will help in promoting and facilitating trade and investment and deepening cooperation amongst Parties.
- 5. The Ministers were pleased to note the outcomes of the ASEAN-India Expo and Forum 2017 organised on 2–5 August 2017 in Bangkok, Thailand, and the ASEAN-India Biztech Expo and Conference organised by the ASEAN-India Business Council on 24–25 May 2017 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. To this end, the Ministers welcomed similar trade events to promote brand awareness of ASEAN and India products and services to further broaden and deepen economic linkages.
- 6. The Ministers commended the various activities conducted by the ASEAN-India Business Council (AIBC) to promote trade and investment between ASEAN and India over the past year. The Ministers also welcomed the initiatives and recommendations made by the AIBC to improve the ASEAN-India FTA, and encouraged the AIBC to continue its role in disseminating trade-related information on India and ASEAN Member States to businesses from the private sector's perspective.

LIST OF MINISTERS

- 1. **H.E. Dato Paduka Lim Jock Hoi**, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Brunei Darussalam (representing The Hon. Pehin Dato Lim Jock Seng, Minister at the Prime Minister's Office and Second Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Brunei Darussalam);
- 2. **H.E. Sok Sopheak**, Under Secretary of State of the Ministry of Commerce, Cambodia (representing H.E. Pan Sorasak, Minister of Commerce, Cambodia);
- 3. H.E. Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu, Minister for Commerce and Industry, India;
- 4. **Mr. Iman Pambagyo**, Director General of International Trade Negotiations, Ministry of Trade, Indonesia (representing H.E. Enggartiasto Lukita, Minister of Trade, Indonesia):
- 5. **Dr. Laohoua Cheuching**, Director General of Foreign Trade Policy, Ministry of Industry and Commerce, Lao PDR (representing H.E. Mrs. Khemmani Pholsena, Minister of Industry and Commerce, Lao PDR);
- 6. **Datuk Seri J. Jayasiri**, Secretary General of the Ministry of International Trade and Industry, Malaysia (representing H.E. Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry, Malaysia);
- 7. **Mr. Tun Tun Naing**, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Planning and Finance, Myanmar (representing H.E. Kyaw Win, Union Minister for Planning and Finance, Myanmar);
- 8. **H.E. Ramon M. Lopez**, Secretary of Trade and Industry, the Philippines;
- 9. **Mr. Loh Khum Yean**, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Singapore (representing H.E. Lim Hng Kiang, Minister for Trade and Industry (Trade), Singapore);
- 10. **Mr. Boonyarit Kalayanamit**, Director General, Department of Trade Negotiations, Ministry of Commerce, Thailand (representing H.E. Mrs. Apiradi Tantraporn, Minister of Commerce, Thailand);
- 11. **Mr. Luong Hoang Thai**, Director General, Multilateral Trade Policy Department, Ministry of Industry and Trade, Viet Nam (representing H.E. Tran Tuan Anh, Minister of Industry and Trade, Viet Nam);
- 12. **H.E. Lim Hong Hin**, Deputy Secretary-General of ASEAN for ASEAN Economic Community (representing H.E. Le Luong Minh, Secretary-General of ASEAN).